The Hierophant Tarot Meanings – High Priest – Major Arcana

Hierophant tarot card meaning upright and reversed

5 -The Hierophant Tarot Meanings – High Priest – Upright



The Hierophant for general tarot card meanings


This tarot card is conventioal and all about tradition. The Hierophant is channeling his spiritual knowledge through society. Where the Emperor is about rules, organizing and planning, the Hierophant tarot card is about ethic rules, norms and values of society. Culture, religions, family and friends influence us daily and through our whole lifes in regard to our norms and values.

The Hierophant tarot card is the 5th major arcana card. Number 5 is about change and about achieving freedom. The Hierophant need the freedom to express himself fully and does not like to be tied down. Read more about tarot & numerology.

  • formal training
  • education
  • conventional subjects
  • rules and expectations by society, rituals and ceremonies, marriage, alliance
  • inner conscience and outer conscience, right and wrong
  • wise advice from a teacher or mentor
  • acceptable behavior
  • next stage in a love relationship
  • corporations
  • a (spiritual) teacher or counselor that is guiding a group
  • the hierophant can be a healer

5 – The Hierophant Tarot Meanings – High Priest – Reversed


You might feel restricted by certain traditions society expects when the Hierophant reversed shows up in a tarot reading.

The Hierophant reversed can show up when the reading is about a rebellious person or teenager that is breaking conventional rules of society.

On the other hand the hierophant reversed can give you as an advice to do things your own way.

  • there could be a need for breaking the rules, going against the conventional order, questioning if it has to be done like society wants to see it
  • the way that is best for you even if you have to break rules
  • religious authority
  • feeling restricted
  • unconventional subjects
  • sticking with the ways you have always done it
  • being crusted in traditions. Is it time for changing habits?
  • group pressure


<< Emperor

The Lovers >>



All Major Arcana Tarot Cards


0 – The Fool 1 – The Magician 2 – The High Priestess 3 – The Empress 4 – The Emperor 5 – The Hierophant 6 – The Lovers 7 – The Chariot 8 – Strength 9 – The Hermit 10 – The Wheel of Fortune 11 – Justice 12 – The Hanged Man 13 – Death 14 – Temperance 15 – The Devil 16 – The Tower 17 – The Star 18 – The Moon 19 – The Sun 20 – Judgment 21 – The World

All Minor Arcana Tarot Cards


Suit of Wands:

Ace of Wands 2 of Wands 3 of Wands  4 of Wands 5 of Wands 6 of Wands  7 of Wands  8 of wands 9 of Wands 10 of Wands Page of Wands Queen of Wands Knight of Wands King of Wands

Suit of Cups:

Ace of Cups 2 of Cups 3 of Cups 4 of Cups 5 of Cups 6 of Cups 7 of Cups 8 of Cups 9 of Cups 10 of Cups Page of Cups Knight of Cups Queen of Cups King of Cups

Suit of Pentacles:

Ace of Pentacles 2 of Pentacles 3 of Pentacles 4 of Pentacles 5 of Pentacles 6 of Pentacles 7 of Pentacles 8 of Pentacles 9 of Pentacles 10 of Pentacles Page of Pentacles Knight of Pentacles Queen of Pentacles King of Pentacles

Suit of Swords:

Ace of Swords 2 of Swords 3 of Swords 4 of Swords 5 of Swords 6 of Swords 7 of Swords 8 of Swords 9 of Swords 10 of Swords Page of Swords Knight of Swords Queen of Swords King of Swords



HealingTarot.Net is a project by Charis Felice™ all rights reserved

HealingTarotNet for Personal Development & Personal Improvement